Medliorate

Improving medical students

RePost: Managing Exam Stress & Optimizing Performance

Posted by medliorator on December 27, 2009

Philip Zack:

Many people have an automatic train of “self talk” in their heads, which has the effect of giving up control to external factors with unhelpful statements such as, “The exam is making me stressed” or “I’m bound to fail again.”

Take control of these self talk messages by challenging them—for example, “The exam is making me stressed” becomes “I let myself get stressed in the exam;” or “I’m bound to fail again” becomes “I might fail, but if I prepare well I might pass.”

You can also control your emotional state by practising simple meditation or visualisation exercises, both before the exam and during short breaks in the exam itself. Box 3 shows a simple example, using a technique called anchoring. You can use a range of techniques, which can either be self learnt or taught by a professional, such as a yoga teacher or hypnotherapist.

the Yerkes-Dodson curve:

Yerkes-Dodson

Exam technique 2: performing [BMJ Careers]

One Response to “RePost: Managing Exam Stress & Optimizing Performance”

  1. Exams are stressful for all and most people revising have their own strategies to beat the stress.

    Recently i won National Teaching Award organised by The HEA’s Engineering Subject Centre for my work in helping my students fight exam stress by collaborating on my exam revosision site Examopedia UK.

    The success of the site for the past three years has encouraged me to launch my site for any student worldwide and see it’s impact.

    I invite one and all to benefit from my site: http://edublend.blogspot.com/2009/12/examopedia-for-all-students.html

    See link for details.

    All the best,

    Manish

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
