Medliorate

Improving medical students

Forum Filter: IMG Taking a Research Year Before Residency

Posted by medliorator on March 16, 2009

Derm83: I am an IMG applying to Radiology next year but I’d like to do 1-2 years or research so that I can be more competitive.

I’d like to start contacting programs for research but I’m wondering what things I should be looking at in a program:
1. A program that takes a substantial number of residents(eg 10)
2. A top tier program which might make more competitive for other programs VS a low tier program where I might have chance matching into.
3. A place where multiple adjacent programs exists (eg Texas Medical Center) so that I have more chances.
4. Research with the PD or chief.
5. IMG-friendly state vs geographically undesired state.

Do you believe 1-2 years of research will make me competitive enough to land a spot? (Non-US IMG, Step 1 99/230+, 2 months of USCE)

lapooh: I would say go for the most top-tier research gig that you can find. Research at big name academic place tends to make you attractive to the mid tier academic programs as well. How much research will help depends on much much you are able to get out in terms in publications from it. Research should definitely help for radiology, even AMGs going into Radiology tend to have atleast some research experience.You would also do well with stellar reccos from your mentors.
Other things being equal, it might be a good idea to go for a place that has multiple programs, like TMC, because you will be able to network with more people. That might help you get interviews at those places.

With added research, you should be competitive for radiology. But I am no expert myself, just know a lot of radiology-crazy people .

Research before residency [SDN]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
