Medliorate

Improving medical students

Forum Filter: How you are Evaluated on Clinical Rotation

Posted by medliorator on January 13, 2009

over at the Differential, Kendra Campbell asks, “have you ever received a grade on a rotation that you thought was not a true reflection of your performance?”

janine – Well, a couple of months after the rotation I get the grade, and I see that I had gotten a C – and to top it off, I had missed a B by one stinking point. I requested a copy of the original evaluation form to see what had been written. Perhaps they had written why I had gotten a C. Well, I happened across more disappointment. The form had no comments on it whatsoever (even though there were specific sections on the form to be filled out with comments) – no comments about what I did right, no comments about what I needed to work on. Just a bunch of numbers carelessly circled, with two of the head attendings’ signatures signed at the bottom of the form – and sadly enough, these were the attendings that I had really not spent a whole lot of time with. I had spent much more time with the other attendings.

So….not only was I annoyed at the grade, but I was also annoyed that the grade wasn’t explained, especially when there was ample opportunity on the form to do so

cardsbound – Your evaluation has little correlation with the amount of work that you put into it. . . welcome to the real world! Realize that the clinical years are much more like a real job, where your performance is evaluated by a lot of factors, with more emphasis on social interactions. My advice is the following:

1. Talk more – you know that annoying gunner that seems to be talking a lot? well he/she’s probably getting A’s. I don’t suggest talking your mouth off, but the students who generally speak up more are noticed.

2. Be personable – sure, your resident probably thinks you’re ok, but do they REALLY like you? that is they should love you. Make them love you. Enough so that they will actually think of writing a good eval at the end.

3. Identify your key evaluators – sure, every single scrub tech, nurse, and resident may think you’re a superstar, but if your preceptor/attending gets a funny feeling from you because you wore scrubs to his meeting, then you’re screwed.

4. Realize this is how real life works and that it’s all arbitrary – in the end, you could have done everything you can, but it’s just arbitrary. But really, who cares? This is your LIFE, and i hope for your sake that good grades isn’t the be all end all. It may be disappointing to get a ‘B’, but it will unlikely prevent you from pursuing and practicing your chosen specialty.

Tell Me What You Want! [The Differential]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
