Medliorate

Improving medical students

Forum Filter – Tales from Gross Anatomy

Posted by medliorator on September 6, 2008

fifi225

So today was my first day of anatomy lab. I’ll be honest, i was a little freaked out about it… I was very concerned about how I was going to handle lab

So we’re looking at this lady…she’s face down, naked and there’s a towel wrapped around her head.  Oh, did I mention her back was cut open in a manner not unreminiscent of a trout being de-boned? well, it was.

And I noticed something.
Her finger nails were painted. A bright, peachy, summery color.
I started thinking about what Dr. Wallace said in her talk on “observation” on Tuesday, about “the lipstick sign”.  what that means is is that when a woman is in the hospital recovering from whatever, one of the first signs that they are feeling better is that they’ll start putting on (in a lot of cases) lipstick.  This lady (er…cadaver) was wearing nail polish.

I really wonder who she was.  I wonder what made her do something so cool as to donate her body so *I* could learn anatomy, so I could be a better doctor.  I wonder if she knew she was going to die soon when she painted her nails that bright peachy color (must have really been no more then a few days before she died).  I wonder about her. And I’m grateful to her.

Med School Forum [LiveJournal]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
