Medliorate

Improving medical students

Know the Expectations

Posted by medliorator on August 30, 2008

In many ways, this is what we’ve come to in medicine. The expectations are almost insurmountable. Infallibility is the performance standard.  The delivery of healthcare has been relegated to the category of “commodity”, like automobiles and hair care products and soybeans.  Where’s my warranty, my guarantee? Why did I get an infection? Why didn’t you realize I had breast cancer when it was 0.5mm instead of 2mm? Did you wash your hands well enough before you came into my room?

But there will be more cases to come. More patients who expect nothing but a smooth, uneventful experience. Once again, I will have to gather my tools and perform…

The Burden of Reproducible Excellence [Buckeye Surgeon]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
