Medliorate

Improving medical students

Secrets of the Doctor-Patient Relationship

Posted by medliorator on July 31, 2008

Today on rounds I “confessed” that I had a huge advantage in the doctor patient relationship – I really like patients.  I do not usually have to fool the patient into thinking that I care – because I do really care.

If we influence our trainees negatively in this regard, then we are not fulfilling our Hippocratic Oath or the Oath of Maimonides.  Maimonides exhorts us: May I never see in the patient anything but a fellow creature in pain.

I can easily blame many external forces on some degradation of the doctor patient relationship, but as physicians we should not let those external forces poison this most important interaction.  We can blame our payment system – which encourages shorter visits.  We can blame malpractice lawyers (always a fun target) for creating an adversarial environment with some patients.  We can blame web sites and chat rooms.  But really we must overcome all these barriers and treat patients as we would want to be treated.

The doctor patient relationship [DB’s Medical Rants]

One Response to “Secrets of the Doctor-Patient Relationship”

  1. drtombibey said

    Enjoyed and I agree. I hope you will read my post on this subject today.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
