Medliorate

Improving medical students

How to Maximize iPhone Battery Life

Posted by medliorator on July 15, 2008

2. Wi-Fi new network scanning off or Wi-Fi off. While you’re not checking data for more than a few seconds at a time, I’d turn off Wi-Fi and in general, I’d turn off Wi-Fi scanning. It uses less power than EDGE or 3G but when you’re not using your network connection, you might as well shut it down. Change this under Settings -> Wi-Fi. Same goes for Bluetooth.

3. Toggle off 3G til ready. Here’s something I wish Apple had automatically managed. I use 3G for browsing, youtube, app store purchases when not around a computer, or during important calls. For all other uses, including email, weather checking and twitter, etc, I use EDGE. This setting is under Settings -> General -> Network.

6. Buy Apps and Songs in iTunes. You can buy songs over Wi-Fi or Apps over 3G, but that doesn’t mean you should. I’d recommend buying Apps at your computer if you can help it, and syncing them to your iPhone instead. As an added bonus, you’ll be picking up a charge while you’re tethered to your computer.

9. Set Push to Off, and Set Fetch Time. Push email isn’t that useful for me because I know I’m getting emails all day long and that I have to be checking all the time. Push does use more juice than the fetch mode, which checks for calendar, contact and email syncing at set intervals of 15 minutes to an hour. I set mine to 1 hour unless I’m out of the office. If you seldom update your contacts and calendars, you might even be better off syncing by cable to iTunes, while you pick up a charge.

How To Maximize Your iPhone 3G’s Questionably Adequate Battery Life [Gizmodo]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
