Medliorate

Improving medical students

Reduce Stress in <5 Minutes

Posted by medliorator on June 9, 2008

  • Lighten up: When the body absorbs sunlight, it enhances the effect of mood-stabilizing chemicals like serotonin
  • Take a (virtual) vacation: “I close my eyes and visualize being on a luxury ocean liner,”
  • Jump rope: …Jumping rope for 20 minutes triggers your body to release feel-good endorphins, and its repetitive motion makes you relaxed and focused
  • Crank up some tunes: Play music that brings up good memories.
  • “When I’m upset, I recite the alphabet backward,” says Ann Eide, a mom of one in Columbus, Mississippi. “I really have to concentrate on the letters, so by the time I get to ‘P,’ I’ve forgotten what was bothering me.”

De-stress in 5 minutes or less [CNN]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
