Medliorate

Improving medical students

Avoiding Drug-Seekers

Posted by medliorator on May 15, 2008

After I’d been in practice for only a few years, I saw a patient for a non-drug-related problem (bronchitis or something like that) who mentioned as part of her medical history that she was an active heroin addict. I looked up at her and told her point-blank I wouldn’t prescribe any narcotics for her. Here’s what she said:

“Oh, I know. The word is out on the street: don’t call Dr. Dino. No drugs to be had there.”

My honest reaction was to swell with pride! That’s obviously why the narkies were leaving me alone. Stick to your guns; once you establish your reputation, you’re home free.

Reputation [Musings of a Dinosaur]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
