Medliorate

Improving medical students

Confucius Explains Medical Education

Posted by medliorator on March 29, 2008

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.

 

We think that we can teach in classes during the first two years. Our students forget much of what they hear. During the 3rd and 4th year they see patients with disease and they start to remember more facts and concepts. During their residencies they participate in patient care (actually they often start this during the clinical student years) and then they start to understand being a physician.

 

This deceptively complex quote explains the problems of the preclinical years and the beauty of the clinical years and residency (at least for learning to be a physician.) We can do this better if we would only recognize the wisdom of this quote.

Confucius on medical education [DB’s Medical Rants]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
