Medliorate

Improving medical students

Clinical Detachment

Posted by medliorator on January 14, 2008

I do remember one time in medical school, when I was very frustrated trying to care for an ornery patient at the VA, when a senior resident took me aside and told me that, “sometimes, it’s OK to hate your patients.” It was something of a seminal moment for me. Prior to that I had the wide-eyed naive idea that I would enjoy and like all of them, I think. Getting permission to dislike my patients was a big step in learning that clinical detachment that is essential to this job.

 

Having been given that permission, though, it can be a challenge to keep it in check.

Hatin’ on the patients [Moving’ Meat]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
