Medliorate

Improving medical students

The Secret of Patient Care

Posted by medliorator on January 5, 2008

Patient visits should focus on the patient. If we believe that talking about ourselves will help the patient, then we can use a disclosure technique. We should think carefully about how a self-disclosure technique will help the patient.

 

The doctor patient visit is truly all about the patient. They come to our offices or hospitals so that we will address their concerns. We should always remember that context.

 

While we must inject our understanding of prevention and pathophysiology into the doctor patient interaction, our patients always deserve our concern about their concerns.

 

Originally said in 1925 by Francis Peabody, “. . . For the secret of the care of the patient is in caring for the patient [10].” The patient must occupy center stage in the doctor patient visit. Any activity that shifts that focus may harm the therapeutic relationship.

On Patient Communication [DB’s Medical Rants]

2 Responses to “The Secret of Patient Care”

  1. drtombibey said

    Amen. I have been a Family Doc for 25 years. I didn’t get rich but I made a living. My number one rule was to treat the patient like you would want you family treated. It is so simple, yet often overlooked by otherwise bright people.

    Thank you for this. I enjoyed. I hope you will check out my post on my old office.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  2. slimmmarko said

    If only this things were true.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
