Medliorate

Improving medical students

Get Bank Fees Waived

Posted by medliorator on June 4, 2007

This week, I deposited 2 separate checks. Unfortunately, the companies had put stop payments on them. A couple of days later, I got a notice from my bank indicating that they were going to charge me $7.00 for each check for “processing fees.”

 

I called Wells Fargo up and had a nice little chat with them. I pointed out that they had charged me a processing fee for a returned check and said, “I’d like to have that removed.” She said, “Of course. Let me just make a note in your file.” And she removed the first one just like that.

 

The second one was a little trickier. After removing the first one, she said, “Is there anything else I can do for you?” And I pointed out the second charge and asked to have it removed. At this point, she was very hesitant to remove it. She said “We ordinarily don’t remove more than 1 processing fee per 3 months,”

 

I pointed out that they had removed a $20.00 overdraft fee a while ago, and this would only be $14.00–the only difference was that this would be 2 charges as opposed to 1 larger one. She asked if she could put me on hold and check with her supervisor, which she did and then came back. “Ok, we can do that for you. Here you go!”

 

Remember, with a customer-acquisition cost of over $350, banks want to keep you as their customer.


Here’s how I negotiated out of bank fees
[I Will Teach you to be Rich]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
