Medliorate

Improving medical students

How to Control Unruly Patients

Posted by medliorator on January 18, 2008

The kid then raised a royal tantrum and started throwing things. I managed to calm him down for a bit so I could go through the physical exam. I gave him my reflex hammer and told him he was supposed to hit a spot on the bed when I told him to, and then stand absolutely straight after hitting that spot. I found that for many children, letting them play with my reflex hammer and turning it into a game is the best way to calm them down. I’ve also discovered that for children who have a phobia of stethoscopes, if I let them listen to my heart first, they’ll usually let me listen to theirs next.

Oh Pediatrics [Half MD]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

