Medliorate

Improving medical students

How to Examine Better

Posted by medliorator on September 28, 2007

The attitude overall, however, probably makes the exam less awkward. Projecting confidence and normalcy to the exam – that you’ve done it many times, and that it’s pretty much standard operating procedures – helps alleviate some of the potential anxiety a patient may feel. Communication is key. I find using medical terminology to be helpful – asking patients to move their “buttocks” toward the end of the bed, instead of their “butt” just makes it at least sound much more objective – that I am simply the doctor asking a female patient to do something, nothing more. Telling the patient beforehand what will happen, and explaining what he or she may feel helps, too. Body language I think is also key. I often close my eyes and lower my head when listening to heart sounds to help me concentrate on them, but I believe it has the added benefit of ensuring patients that I am touching them for medical purposes only. You never know what prior experiences a patient has had that may make them uncomfortable.

You’ve Come Along Way, Boobie [Over My Med Body]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

